Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Career Information

Using Databases Off-Campus
Access Library Databases Off-Campus

In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password.  Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.  
Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

GVRL - Career Information Center Restricted Resource
Provides the most current information available on careers in the United States and Canada to people of all ages and all stages of career development. Each volume covers a career cluster and its common career pathways.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.

  Find Books and eBooks

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Print Location: Ref. HF5381 .E52 2015
Check availability
Detailed entries on careers.  Find out what education is needed, what each job entails,  employment outlook, earnings, and more!  Library use only.
OneSearch -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand - Careers Restricted Resource
Information on a variety of careers. List is in order of relevance.  Sort list to Newest to Oldest to see the current films.

  Websites

CAREERwise Education
Formerly iseek.org, this Minnesota State site helps you to explore careers, find the training for a career or search for jobs.
Job Search Writing - The Purdue OWL
Tips on writing a job application, resumes and CV, job search resumes.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Detailed information on careers.

  Practice Exams

Learning Express Library Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams for academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, plus college and career skill-building exercises.


Powered by SubjectsPlus