In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password. Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
Professional Association Websites
Research and Writing Assistance
Online reference source where the engineering community can quickly find concise and reliable information on the fundamentals of engineering. Contains all original content.
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
A collection of over 600 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Searches for scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
This comprehensive resource draws on the connection between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Print Location: Periodicals
Journal of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Print copies in the periodical area of the IHCC Library. February 2011 - current.
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.
Magazine published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, explores new technologies and their impact.
Magazine that reports on what's new and in technology, science, gadgets, space, and more.
Searchable databse of material properties contains data sheets for over 105,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
Website of the federal technology agency that works with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards.
The official site of The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.
Website of The American Institute of Chemical Engineers, geared towards advancing the practice and theory of Chemical Engineering Offers free access to the magazine Chemical Engineering Progress. Contains content that's of interest to mechanical engineers as well.
Official site of the American Society for Engineering Education, promotes furthering education in engineering and engineering technology. This site also features ASEE's popular magazine, Prism, available full-text.
Website of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Offers articles, standards, conference proceedings and much more for mechanical engineers and other technical professionals.
Official site of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, promotes the advancement of technology.
The ultimate knowledge source for mobility engineering.
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
Website of Compatible Technology International (CTI), a nonprofit that designs and distributes tools in collaboration with small farmers and their communities to improve food and water security in developing countries.
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the Department of Defense (DoD) community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
Website specializing in user-created and uploaded do-it-
The Kinematic Models for Design Digital Library (KMODDL) is Cornell University's open access, multimedia resource for learning and teaching about kinematics – the geometry of pure motion – and the history and theory of machines.
The Lemelson-MIT Program celebrates outstanding inventors and inspires young people to pursue creative lives and careers through invention.
Offers writing guidelines designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work. Contains models for writing documents in engineering and science.