Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Accessing IHCC Library Resources Remotely

Table of Modules
Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Module 2: Remote Access of Library Resources
You can access all Inver Hills library resources remotely, including the library catalog (discussed in Module 4: Finding Books) and all article databases (discussed in Module 5: Finding Articles).
Library Catalog Access
To access the library catalog (OneSearch) remotely, click on the "search" button beneath the OneSearch search bar.

 

When you get to the 
OneSearch Page, you will want to sign in with your StarID and password. This will allow you to place interlibrary loans on books and articles. You will find the Sign In button in the upper right hand corner of your screen. 

Note: Interlibary Loans for books and other physical materials has been suspended system-wide through March 30th. Please see the library's COVID-19 Update page for more information.

Article Database Access
You can also access any of the article databases remotely. You will find the most popular IHCC Library Databases in the drop-down menu under the Database Quick Links heading. You can find additional article databases by following the relevent links under the Research Tools heading. 

   

When you select the database you would like to view, you will be prompted to log in with your StarID and password.



Once you do so, you will be granted access to the database. If you encounter any problems, please contact a librarian at library@inverhills.edu.

For assistance using article databases, check out Module 5: Finding Articles. 
 
Placing an Interlibrary Loan for an Article
While searching in the article databases, you may encounter an article that isn't immediately available in Full Text. This means the Inver Hills Library does not have access to the particular journal volume where the article appears. If you would like to view the article, you can place an interlibarary loan. When you place an interlibary loan, you request the article from another college or university. 

If you are in an EBSCOhost database (e.g.: Academic Search Premier, PsychArticles, CINAHL), you will want to click on the Where Can I Get This? link. This link will be in the upper left hand side of your screen, where you would otherwise find a link to the the article in PDF or HTML format. 



In other databases, the Where Can I Get This? (or Where can I find this?) link may appear in a different part of the item record. For example, in ProQuest databaes (e.g.: ProQuest Psychology, ProQuest Criminal Justice, Alt Press Watch), you will find the link on the right hand side of your screen. 



When you follow this link, you will view the item record in the library's catalog, OneSearch. Occassionally, you may be able follow links to other databases or online journals where you can view the article. If you have any questions about how to access an article, please email a librarian at library@inverhills.edu. We can help! 

Most of the time, you will see a yellow bar that says Please sign in to check if there are any request options. 


Click on the Sign In link on the yellow bar. You will then be prompted to log in. Select the StarID option. 



Once you are signed in, you will seen an option for placing an Interlibrary Loan. Click on that bar. 



This will take you to an interlibrary loan request page. Information about your article, such as the article title and author(s), should be autofilled in the appropriate fields. Check to make sure this information is correct. In addition, check to make sure that the email listed is your preferred email: this is the email where you will receive a link to your article. If all of this information looks correct, click on the Send Request button. 



Finally, you will see a page that lists the terms and conditions of placing your interlibrary loan. Be sure to click on the button that says I AGREE WITH THESE TERMS. Otherwise, your interlibrary loan will not be placed.



If another institution is able to lend a copy of the article, you will recieve an email with a link to the article. This process usually takes 1-2 days, and your link will expire 7 days after you receive the email. If you have any questions, you can always email library@inverhills.edu to check on the status of your interlibrary loan. 

Video Tutorial: Placing an Interlibrary Loan Request for an Article

Please continue to Module 2: Where Do I Start? 

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus