Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
 
Using Databases Off-Campus
Access Library Databases Off-Campus

In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password.  Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.  
Related Guides
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesdatabase
Covers current issues and controversial subjects. Each full-text weekly report is written by an experienced journalist and contains an overview of the topic, current outlook, pros and cons, a bibliography, and more.
note: 1923 - present
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audiodatabase eref ebook
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Features non-mainstream sources such as The Village Voice, Dissent, and Against the Current.
note: 1970 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
Google Scholar Some full text available
Searches for scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
This multidisciplinary database contains full-text articles from general interest publications covering a variety of subject areas. It also includes a collection of reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and images.
note: Updated daily.
MegaFILE (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
MegaFILE combines Ebsco's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases into one search.
note: Updated daily.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Find overviews, point, counterpoint, and full-text magazine articles on current issues and controversial topics.
ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

ProQuest US Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full text of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text access to the Star Tribune. A good place to research local topics and current events.
note: 1980 - present
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60+ APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

 

  Find Books and eBooks

Ebsco eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 11,000 full-text books in all subjects. You will need to create an account to download books.
OneSearch -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

Minnesota.gov
Facts, data, and information on the state. 
NIH - National Institutes of Health
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.  Information on health topics and research.
USA.gov
 "Official guide to government information and services."  Great resource for statistics and government reports on a variety of topics.  Sites come from all levels of government: federal, state, county and city.  

  Research and Writing Assistance

5 Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
This is good checklist of questions to ask when critically evaluating Web sources, from Cornell University Library.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
Library Research Tutorial
Self-paced tutorial on how to use Inver Hills Library online resources.
OWL Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Find free online citation style guides, writing and research guides, and more at this site. Choose the citation style you need from the list on the left side of the page: MLA, APA.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
Choosing a Topic

This video was created by the North Carolina State University Library.
MLA Works Cited Page
MLA format -- first page
Search for Books


Powered by SubjectsPlus