Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
 
Using Databases Off-Campus
Access Library Databases Off-Campus

In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password.  Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

Search for Books
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Best Bets for Nursing Research

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 1300 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus indexing to 5000 more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
IBM Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Access to comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information. Also includes PDR, formulary, and alternative medicine information.
Nursing Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Access diagnosis and drug information as well as patient care plans and academic journal articles.

  Find Background Information

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
GVRL -- Nursing Reference Books Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books that cover a variety of subjects related to medicine.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
For nursing and allied health, entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and alternative medicine.
note: Indexed 1984 - present, fulltext from 1990 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
General Science Collection (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
A collection of over 600 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Scholarly full text journal articles and LexiPAL Drug Guide.
ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60+ APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.

  Websites

Medline Plus - Health Information Some full text available Resource contains images
Find credible health information from trusted sources on this site, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  It offers overviews of diseases and conditions, drug information, a medical encyclopedia, and more.
NIH - National Institutes of Health
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.  Information on health topics and research.
Office of Minority Health
Site of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health. Resources include racial and ethnic minority health literature and research, raninging from topics such as cultural competency in healthcare to combating health disparities.
PubMed
This site provides access to citations and some full-text in the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive MEDLINE database of biomedical journals. Non full-text articles can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

  Research and Writing Assistance

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.

  Practice Exams

Learning Express Library Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams for academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, plus college and career skill-building exercises.
Practice Exam Database
Includes the NCLEX-RN practice exams.
New Books









Powered by SubjectsPlus