Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org
 
Using Databases Off-Campus
Access Library Databases Off-Campus

In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password.  Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

New Books


 

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Best Bets for Psychology Articles

ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60+ APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

 

  Find Background Information

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audiodatabase eref ebook
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily

  Professional Association Websites

APA -- Amercian Psychological Association
Website of the APA, the largest professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA educates the public with information on news, research and education in the areas of psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
APS -- Association for Psychological Science
Professional organization for the advancement of scientifically oriented psychology. Includes details of annual convention, publications, news and more.

  Find Books and eBooks

Ebsco eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 11,000 full-text books in all subjects. You will need to create an account to download books.
OneSearch -- IHCC Library Catalog
Search the collection of books and other materials at Inver Hills Community College, as well as the library collections of all MnPALS Consortium libraries, from a basic search box. Narrow the results by clicking on the various facets (format, author, topic, language, genre, era, region). Includes access to Ebsco E-books and Gale Virtual Reference (GVRL) titles.
 

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Research and Writing Assistance

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Created by the North Carolina State Universities, this interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article.
APA Format for Reference and Quotation
Resource for APA cover page set-up, from the Office of Teaching Resources in Psychology.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Online Writing Lab)
This award-winning documentation site provides guidelines and samples for the APA citation style.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
PsycARTICLES Database Tutorial
Understanding Scholarly Articles
Many times, your instructor will require scholarly articles. Scholary articles are also known as peer-reviewed, academic, or refereed. Created by the North Carolina State Universities, the following interactive tutorial will help explain the elements of a scholarly article. when an area of the article is highlighted, click on it for a detailed explanation.   When you are done, watch the video from NCSU Libraries on what to look for in a credible source.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
 
Evaluating Sources for Credibility

Using OWL for APA citations
APA Cover Page - Alternate Setup


Powered by SubjectsPlus