Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

English 1114

Ask A Librarian?
Hours:
Monday - Thursday  8 am - 9 pm
Friday  8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org


 
Using Databases Off-Campus
Access Library Databases Off-Campus

In order to access the Library's databases from off-campus, you can use your StarID username and password.  Library databases are only available to Inver Hills Community College students, faculty, and staff.  
Chat with a Librarian
Research assistance by instant message, email or phone is available only during library hours.
If we are offline, please leave  your question and your contact information in the chatbox or email the librarian directly.

 
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Find Background Information

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesdatabase
Covers current issues and controversial subjects. Each full-text weekly report is written by an experienced journalist and contains an overview of the topic, current outlook, pros and cons, a bibliography, and more.
note: 1923 - present
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online reference books in a variety of topics from Art to Technology. Includes topic overviews, images, bilingual dictionaries and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audiodatabase eref ebook
Online reference books that provide overview information in a variety of subject areas.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Find overviews, point, counterpoint, and full-text magazine articles on current issues and controversial topics.

  Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audioelm database
A good place to start research on all academic subjects. This database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and alternative medicine.
note: Indexed 1984 - present, fulltext from 1990 - present
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Features non-mainstream sources such as The Village Voice, Dissent, and Against the Current.
note: 1970 - present
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to over 1300 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus indexing to 5000 more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
Educators Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audioelm database
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
The ERIC database (published by the U.S. Department of Education) offers citations, abstracts, articles, books, and research reports for education literature. Not all are full-text.
note: 1966 - present
Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Start your research here on topics across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
note: 1980 - present, updated daily
GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageselm
This comprehensive resource draws on the connection between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.  Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
Access full-text scholarly articles in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
Proquest Criminal Justice Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for student researchers and professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Includes American Journal of Criminal Justice and FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin.
note: 1981 - present
ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases.
Content from 1980 - present.

ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.
ProQuest US Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full text of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text access to the Star Tribune. A good place to research local topics and current events.
note: 1980 - present
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Provides fulltext articles to 60+ APA peer-reviewed journals.  1864 - present.  May need to use Chrome or Firefox browser for best results.

 
Science Reference Center (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full text science information from encyclopedias, scholarly journals and magazines.

  Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Access to over 200,000 streamed academic videos on a wide range of topics.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming video with access over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos online 24/7.
 

  Websites

Medline Plus - Health Information Some full text available Resource contains images
Find credible health information from trusted sources on this site, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  It offers overviews of diseases and conditions, drug information, a medical encyclopedia, and more.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
USA.gov
 "Official guide to government information and services."  Great resource for statistics and government reports on a variety of topics.  Sites come from all levels of government: federal, state, county and city.  

  Research and Writing Assistance

5 Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
This is good checklist of questions to ask when critically evaluating Web sources, from Cornell University Library.
Noodle Tools Bibliography Maker
 A web tool for making MLA, APA, or other types of bibliographies. Free to all IHCC students, faculty, and staff.
OWL Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Find free online citation style guides, writing and research guides, and more at this site. Choose the citation style you need from the list on the left side of the page: MLA, APA.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine
Explains the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular publications.
Writing Center Handouts -- UNC
Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center, these handouts offer great tips on all aspects of the writing process. Includes strategies for writing papers, citation and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments, and writing for specific fields.
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


MLA format -- first page
MLA Works Cited Page
Using OWL for APA citations


Powered by SubjectsPlus