Inver Hills Community College - IHCC

Faculty and Staff Information

Ask a Librarian
Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 4 pm
Saturday 9 am - 3 pm

Email: library@inverhills.edu
Phone: 651-450-3625
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: http://www.askmn.org

 
Faculty and Staff Information
Welcome!
Welcome to the IHCC Library.  We have materials that support your curriculum but hope you will use our library for recreational use as well.  We have a large DVD collection of feature, documentary, and foreign films (one week checkout) and over 40,000 volumes including fiction, non-fiction, and graphic novels (checkout for 4+ months).  We welcome purchase recommendations and encourage suggestions, please feel free to contact us.  Below is some information about the IHCC Library that you may find helpful. 

Library Staff 
The library is located on the 1st floor of the Library Building, library@inverhills.edu  651-450-3625.
 
Julie Benolken, Librarian                               jbenolken@inverhills.edu
Brenda Besser, Librarian                               bbesser@inverhills.edu
Ann Schroder, Librarian                                 aschroder@inverhills.edu
Alec Henry, Library Technician                      ahenry@inverhills.edu
David Colwell, Library Technician                  dcolwell@inverhills.edu

Circulation
Library cards are availabhle for all IHCC faculty and staff.  An Inver Hills ID card is also available for the Enrollment Center (2nd floor of the College Center) which can then be activated in the library for use as a library card.  Faculty and staff may check out books for one semester; periodicals and media for one week.  Materials may be renewed online in the MnPALS catalog, under Login in the top right, or in-person at the IHCC Library circulation desk.

Reserves
Instructors may place books, articles, and media on reserve status in the library for a 2-hour in-library use, or 24-hour to 48-hour outside library use.  Reserve forms are available in the library.  Please allow 24 hours for processing.  Items must comply with copyright, see below for more information. 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Items not found in the IHCC Library collection may be requested from another library.  Items can be requested directly from the library catalog or, in the case of articles, directly from one of our databases. Use your StarID and StarID password or your 14 digit library barcode and password (usually your last name) for requests.  Articles are sent directly to your email and can take from 1 to 3 days to arrive; print materials can take up to one week and are sent to the library, you'll be notified via email when an item is ready for pick up.  Note that the loan period for an ILL item is set by the lending library, not the IHCC Library.  Please ask a library staff member if you need assistance placing an ILL request or if you have questions about the loan period or renewals. 

Library Instruction
The IHCC Librarians are available to instruct classes on library research, which includes use of library resources and subscription databases.  We have a classroom located in the library or can come to your class. Please contact us at library@inverhills.edu to schedule dates and times for sessions.  Signing up early in the semester is recommended, as our calendar fills up quickly.  Instructors must be present during the library session.
We will also work with instructors for individual instruction on using our resources or web searching techniques.  If you would like a Research Guide created for your class, please contact us.  Research Guides can be found on the library website or at: https://inverhills.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/index.php
We can provide research assistance to your students in a variety of modes: https://www.inverhills.edu/library/questions.html
 
Library Homepage www.inverhills.edu/Library
Access IHCC Library Policy, Collections, Databases, Research Guides, and Library Research Tutorials from our website

Create Links to Database Articles:
For a complete list of IHCC database offerings, visit https://www.inverhills.edu/library/research/databases.html
You can create links to specific articles from library databases and include the link in D2L, a website, or email.  Each database has a slightly different way to get the link.  Database Link Instructions

Copyright Guidelines

These are the official guidelines for Minnesota State employees.  Copyright Guidelines    
For copyright clearance permission to use an article or book chapter in D2L or in class, please see the Inver Hills bookstore.  They have the Copyright Clearance account on campus. 
For additional information regarding copyright for specific materials, please see the MnState IP/Copyright Tools and Forms page.

*General guidelines for seeking permission to convert VHS to DVD (for library-owned titles, but should be followed by the instructor/IT for personal copies)
  1. For library-owned VHS titles, an IHCC Librarian will determine if the video is available for purchase in DVD format or available online via a free or subscription streaming service. If the video in question is the instructor's personal copy, the instructor and/or IT will try to determine availability in other formats.
  2. If a library-owned title is available on DVD or through a streaming service, the library will determine if funds allow for its purchase.  If available via one of the library's streaming services the librarian will notify the instructor.
  3. If it is not available for purchase in DVD format, the librarian will assist the instructor in locating the contact information. The faculty member will contact the copyright holder and request permission to convert the VHS to DVD format for educational use.
  4. The response of the copyright holder needs to be documented in writing via email, letters, faxes, etc.
One of these outcomes will result from the query:
  •  The copyright holder gives permission. Deliver the copyright permission in writing to the IHCC IT Department and request that the VHS be converted to DVD.  Make sure to retain a copy of the copyright permission to keep in your files.  IT will retain a copy of the copyright permission with your request to convert to DVD.  IT will return both to the faculty member.
  • The VHS is not available on DVD and the copyright holder will not give authorization to make the conversion.  The conversion of the VHS is not possible.
  • It is impossible to discern who the copyright holder is e.g. the company is defunct.  In this case, it may be sufficient to have made a good faith effort to locate a copyright holder and having on file sufficient evidence copies of letters and emails, return postal receipts, etc. that a “reasonable effort” has been made to located the copyright holder in a reasonable period of time.  The final decision to authorize IT to convert the VHS will be made by the IT Department.

*Adapted from Suny Broome Library; http://sunybroome.info/library/guidelines-seeking-permission-convert-vhs-dvd



 


Powered by SubjectsPlus